Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Professor John Walker Receives IPG Award of Excellence

Sept. 18, 2012

John C. WalkerJohn C. Walker, professor and director of the Division of Biological Sciences, is the recipient of the 2012 Excellence Award from the Interdisciplinary Plant Group (IPG). The award acknowledges contributions to the study of interdisciplinary research in plant biology at MU.

Walker was chosen to receive the award for his exceptional leadership and contributions to the success of the IPG and his outstanding efforts in developing modern plant research and growth facilities at the University of Missouri. This is the second time the award has been offered.

Walker helped secure extramural funds in excess of $12 million to build the Ernie and Lottie Sears Plant Growth Facility and the Proteomics Center on campus. He served as associate director and then director of the IPG from 2006-2011.

“As director of the IPG from 2008-2011, John actively promoted and facilitated the team environment and philosophy for which the IPG has come to be recognized,” said Robert Sharp, professor of plant sciences and current director of the IPG. “He┬áhas always worked hard and unselfishly to enhance the research and educational opportunities for the broader scientific community at MU. His diverse range of leadership and service efforts is truly exemplary.”


Written by: Melody Kroll

Related research strengths:
Cell Biology, Genetics & Genomics, Molecular Biology, Plant Biology
Related categories: