Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Prof. Sarah Bush awarded 2016 Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence

April 6, 2016

Sarah Bush and Jim Schatz shaking hands

Commerce Bank Chairman Jim Schatz congratulates Prof. Bush on being awarded the Kemper Fellowship.

Columbia, MO — University of Missouri interim Chancellor Hank Foley and Commerce Bank Chairman Jim Schatz today awarded one of the 2016 William T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence to Sarah Bush, an associate teaching professor of biological sciences in the College of Arts and Science.

Foley, Schatz, and a group of professors, administrators, and staff surprised Bush by honoring her with the Fellowship, which includes a $10,000 check. Kemper Fellowships are awarded to five outstanding teachers at the University of Missouri each year.

This year is the 26th anniversary of the first William T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence, which was established in 1991 with a $500,000 gift. Kemper, a 1926 MU graduate, was a well known civic leader in Kansas City until his death in 1989. His 52-year career in banking included top positions at banks in Missouri, Kansas, and Oklahoma. Commerce Bank manages the trust fund.


Related categories: