Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Biology Takes Home Several Arts and Science Awards

Feb. 24, 2015

Pamela Brown

Dr. Pamela Brown, assistant professor of biological sciences

Dr. Pamela Brown, Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences, was awarded the Purple Chalk Teaching Award. The award, established in 1974, recognizes teaching excellence of faculty members selected by the student body. Dr. Brown teaches Bio_Sc 3750, General Microbiology, for undergraduates. The course gives students a broad appreciation for the unique problems and opportunities presented by microbes – how they conform to the general principles of biology, but also how microbes have evolved alternate and sometimes bizarre strategies to survive and multiply. Students describe her as an enthusiastic teacher who is passionate about science and about student learning. They regularly comment on her ability to teach complex information in an understandable and engaging way.

This image shows J. Nicolas Holladay and Ian Aberbach holding plaques

Nicholas Holladay and Ian Aberbach, recipients of the 2015 Blue Chalk Advising Awards

J. Nicholas Holladay was awarded the Blue Chalk Advising Award by the College of Arts and Science Student Council. Holladay, who joined the Division of Biological Sciences as an Academic Advisor in 2010, is responsible for the academic development of over 450 biology majors. In addition to advising students, he also leads a career-explorations course for biology majors (Bio_Sc 2001), a learning strategies and college skills courses through the Student Success Center (SSC 1150), and two seminar/discussion-style courses that survey a range of issues of special importance to transfer students (Interdis 2001) and international students (SSC 1150). He also serves as the advisor for MU’s First Generation Student Association.

Eighteen biology majors also were awarded scholarships from the College of Arts and Science. Congratulations to the following students:

  • Rebekah Bade
  • Ngan (May) Do
  • Micah Fletcher
  • Nicole Formhals
  • Samuel Mitchell
  • William Moritz
  • Melanie Pancoast
  • Morgan Seibert
  • Benjamin Shanker
  • Audrey Wagner
  • Nicole Walden
  • Decatur Wilson
  • Nathan Coffey
  • Megan Keller
  • Wade Dismukes
  • Haley Myers
  • Kevin Bird
  • Badr Almadi


A complete list of all 2015 College of Arts and Science Award winners is available at

Written by: Melody Kroll

Related categories:
Awards, Undergraduate Studies